chat loading…


95th Academy Awards

95th Academy Awards

The Academy Awards are celebrated every March to honor and recognize technical and artistic achievements in the film industry. This year, the 95th Academy Awards were held on Sunday, March 12. We’ve listed all of the nominees for the “Big Five” awards (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Screenplay) below, some of which are available in our collection! Winners are listed first and highlighted in boldface. Click on a movie title below to place a hold on a physical copy through the Evergreen catalog.

Best Picture

Everything Everywhere All at Once – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, and Jonathan Wang, producers

All Quiet on the Western Front – Malte Grunert, producer

Avatar: The Way of Water – James Cameron and Jon Landau, producers

The Banshees of Inisherin – Graham Broadbent, Peter Czernin, and Martin McDonagh, producers

Elvis – Baz Luhrmann, Catherine Martin, Gail Berman, Patrick McCormick, and Schuyler Weiss, producers

The Fabelmans – Kristie Macosko Krieger, Steven Spielberg, and Tony Kushner, producers

Tár – Todd Field, Alexandra Milchan, and Scott Lambert, producers

Top Gun: Maverick – Tom Cruise, Christopher McQuarrie, David Ellison, and Jerry Bruckheimer, producers

Triangle of Sadness – Erik Hemmendorff and Philippe Bober, producers

Women Talking – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, and Frances McDormand, producers


Best Director

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin

Steven Spielberg – The Fabelmans

Todd Field – Tár

Ruben Östlund – Triangle of Sadness


Best Actress

Michelle Yeoh – Everything Everywhere All at Once as Evelyn Quan Wang

Cate Blanchett – Tár as Lydia Tár

Ana de Armas – Blonde as Norma Jeane

Andrea Riseborough – To Leslie as Leslie Rowlands

Michelle Williams – The Fabelmans as Mitzi Schildkraut-Fabelman


Best Actor

Brendan Fraser – The Whale as Charlie

Austin Butler – Elvis as Elvis Presley

Colin Farrell – The Banshees of Inisherin as Pádraic Súilleabháin

Paul Mescal – Aftersun as Calum Paterson

Bill Nighy – Living as Mr. Rodney Williams


Best Adapted Screenplay

Women Talking – Sarah Polley; based on the novel by Miriam Toews

All Quiet on the Western Front – Edward Berger, Lesley Paterson, and Ian Stokell; based on the novel by Erich Maria Remarque

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery – Rian Johnson; based on characters created by Johnson and the film Knives Out

Living – Kazuo Ishiguro; based on the original motion picture screenplay Ikiru by Akira Kurosawa, Shinobu Hashimoto, and Hideo Oguni

Top Gun: Maverick – Screenplay by Ehren Kruger, Eric Warren Singer, and Christopher McQuarrie; Story by Peter Craig and Justin Marks; based on the film Top Gun written by Jim Cash and Jack Epps Jr.


Best Original Screenplay

Everything Everywhere All at Once – Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert

The Banshees of Inisherin – Martin McDonagh

The Fabelmans – Steven Spielberg and Tony Kushner

Tár – Todd Field

Triangle of Sadness – Ruben Östlund