chat loading…


2023 Booker Prize Winner

2023 Booker Prize Winner

Written by: Nick Philip, Adult Services Supervisor

The 2023 Booker Prize has been awarded to Paul Lynch for his novel Prophet Song! Long considered the most prestigious literary award in the United Kingdom, the Booker Prize (formerly known as the Man Booker Prize) is awarded annually to any novel written in English. Throughout much of its history, the prize was only available to authors from Commonwealth nations, Ireland, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Now, however, any author who writes in English is eligible. Below are the other nominees.


Study for Obedience by Sarah Bernstein

If I Survive You by Jonathan Escoffery

This Other Eden by Paul Harding

The Bee Sting by Paul Murray

Western Lane by Chetna Maroo


If you’re interested in exploring past winners of the Booker Prize, check out our list below.

2022Shehan KarunatilakaThe Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
2021Damon GalgutThe Promise
2020Douglas StuartShuggie Bain
2019Margaret AtwoodThe Testaments
2019Bernardine EvaristoGirl, Woman, Other
2018Anna BurnsMilkman
2017George SaundersLincoln in the Bardo
2016Paul BeattyThe Sellout
2015Marlon JamesA Brief History of Seven Killings
2014Richard FlanaganThe Narrow Road to the Deep North
2013Eleanor CattonThe Luminaries
2012Hilary MantelBring Up the Bodies
2011Julian BarnesThe Sense of an Ending
2010Howard JacobsonThe Finkler Question
2009Hilary MantelWolf Hall
2008Aravind AdigaThe White Tiger
2007Anne EnrightThe Gathering
2006Kiran DesaiThe Inheritance of Loss
2005John BanvilleThe Sea
2004Alan HollinghurstThe Line of Beauty
2003D. B. C. PierreVernon God Little
2002Yann MartelLife of Pi
2001Peter CareyTrue History of the Kelly Gang
2000Margaret AtwoodThe Blind Assassin
1999J. M. CoetzeeDisgrace
1998Ian McEwanAmsterdam
1997Arundhati RoyThe God of Small Things
1996Graham SwiftLast Orders
1995Pat BarkerThe Ghost Road
1994James KelmanHow Late It Was, How Late
1993Roddy DoylePaddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1992Michael OndaatjeThe English Patient
1992Barry UnsworthSacred Hunger
1991Ben OkriThe Famished Road
1990A. S. ByattPossession
1989Kazuo IshiguroThe Remains of the Day
1988Peter CareyOscar & Lucinda
1987Penelope LivelyMoon Tiger
1986Kingsley AmisThe Old Devils
1985Keri HulmeThe Bone People
1984Anita BrooknerHotel du Lac
1983J. M. CoetzeeLife & Times of Michael K
1982Thomas KeneallySchindler's Ark
1981Salman RushdieMidnight's Children
1980William GoldingRites of Passage
1979Penelope FitzgeraldOffshore
1978Iris MurdochThe Sea, the Sea
1977Paul ScottStaying On
1976David StoreySaville
1975Ruth Prawer JhabvalaHeat and Dust
1974Nadine GordimerThe Conservationist
1974Stanley MiddletonHoliday
1973J. G. FarrellThe Siege of Krishnapur
1972John BergerG.
1971V. S. NaipaulIn a Free State
1970Bernice RubensThe Elected Member
1970J. G. FarrellTroubles
1969P. H. NewbySomething to Answer For

Verified by MonsterInsights