chat loading…


2023 Hugo Awards

2023 Hugo Awards

Written by: Nick Philip, Adult Services Supervisor

On October 21, the winners of the 2023 Hugo Award were announced at Chengdu Worldcon, the site of the 81st World Science Fiction Convention. The Hugo Award is administered by the World Science Fiction Society and awards works in science fiction and fantasy. The award is one of the most prestigious in speculative fiction alongside the Nebula Award. Some of the winners and nominees are listed below, with links to the catalog if you’d like to place them on hold. You can find a complete list at this link. Enjoy!


Best Novel: Nettle & Bone by T. Kingfisher

Other Nominees:

Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree

The Spare Man by Mary Robinette Kowal

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Nona the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi


Best Novella: Where the Drowned Girls Go by Seanan McGuire

Other Nominees:

A Mirror Mended by Alix E. Harrow

What Moves the Dead by T. Kingfisher

Even Though I Knew the End by C. L. Polk

Ogres by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Into the Riverlands by Nghi Vo

Best Series: Children of Time Series by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Other Nominees:

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

The Founders Trilogy by Robert Jackson Bennett

October Daye by Seanan McGuire

The Locked Tomb by Tamsyn Muir

The Scholomance by Naomi Novik

Best Graphic Story or Comic: Cyberpunk 2077: Big City Dreams by Bartosz Sztybor, Filipe Andrade, Alessio Fioriniello, Roman Titov, Krzysztof Ostrowski

Other Nominees:

DUNE: The Official Movie Graphic Novel by Lilah Sturges, Drew Johnson, Zid

Monstress Vol. 7: Devourer by Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda

Once & Future Vol 4: Monarchies in the UK by Kieron Gillen / Dan Mora

Saga Vol. 10 by Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples, Fonografiks

Supergirl: Woman of Tomorrow by Tom King, Bilquis Evely, and Matheus Lopes

Best Related Work: Terry Pratchett: A Life With Footnotes by Rob Wilkins

Other Nominees:

Blood, Sweat & Chrome: The Wild and True Story of Mad Max: Fury Road by Kyle Buchanan

Chinese Science Fiction, An Oral History, Volume 1 by Yang Feng

“The Ghost of Workshops Past” by S.L. Huang

Buffalito World Outreach Project by Lawrence M. Schoen

Still Just a Geek: An Annotated Memoir by Wil Wheaton

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Everything Everywhere All at Once

Other Nominees:

Avatar: The Way of Water

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever


Severance (Season 1)

Turning Red

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book: Akata Woman (The Nsibidi Scripts) by Nnedi Okorafor

Other Nominees:

Dreams Bigger Than Heartbreak by Charlie Jane Anders

Bloodmarked by Tracy Deonn

In the Serpent’s Wake by Rachel Hartman

The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik

Osmo Unknown and the Eightpenny Woods by Catherynne M. Valente


If you’re interested in exploring more, here are the previous winners of the award for best novel.

2023T. KingfisherNettle & Bone
2022Arkady MartineA Desolation Called Peace
2021Martha WellsNetwork Effect
2020Arkady MartineA Memory Called Empire
2019Mary Robinette KowalThe Calculating Stars
2018NK JemisinThe Stone Sky
2017Nk JemisinThe Obelisk Gate
2016NK JemisinThe Fifth Season
2015Cixin LiuThe Three-Body Problem
2014Ann LeckieAncillary Justice
2013John ScalziRedshirts
2012Jo WaltonAmong Others
2011Connie WillisBlackout
2011Connie WillisAll Clear
2010Paolo BacigalupiThe Windup Girl
2010China MievilleThe City & the City
2009Neil GaimanThe Graveyard Book
2008Michael ChabonThe Yiddish Policemen's Union
2007Vernor VingeRainbows End
2006Robert Charles WilsonSpin
2005Susanna ClarkeJonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
2004Lois McMaster BujoldPaladin of Souls
2003Robert J SawyerHominids
2002Neil GaimanAmerican Gods
2001JK RowlingHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
2000Vernor VingeA Deepness in the Sky
1999Connie WillisTo Say Nothing of the Dog
1998Joe HaldemanForever Peace
1997Kim Stanley RobinsonBlue Mars
1996Neal StephensonThe Diamond Age
1995Lois McMaster BujoldMirror Dance
1994Kim Stanley RobinsonGreen Mars
1993Vernor VingeA Fire Upon the Deep
1993Connie WillisDoomsday Book
1992Lois McMaster BujoldBarrayar
1991Lois McMaster BujoldThe Vor Game
1990Dan SimmonsHyperion
1989CJ CherryhCyteen
1988David BrinThe Uplift War
1987Orson Scott CardSpeaker for the Dead
1986Orson Scott CardEnder's Game
1985William GibsonNeuromancer
1984David BrinStartide Rising
1983Isaac AsimovFoundation's Edge
1982CJ CherryhDownbelow Station
1981Joan D VingeThe Snow Queen
1980Arthur C ClarkeThe Fountains of Paradise
1979Vonda N McIntyreDreamsnake
1978Frederik PohlGateway
1977Kate WilhelmWhere Late the Sweet Birds Sang
1976Joe HaldemanThe Forever War
1975Ursula K Le GuinThe Dispossessed
1974Arthur C ClarkeRendezvous with Rama
1973Isaac AsimovThe Gods Themselves
1972Philip Jose FarmerTo Your Scattered Bodies Go
1971Larry NivenRingworld
1970Ursula K Le GuinThe Left Hand of Darkness
1969John BrunnerStand on Zanzibar
1968Roger ZelaznyLord of Light
1967Robert A HeinleinThe Moon Is a Harsh Mistress
1966Frank HerbertDune
1966Roger Zelazny...And Call Me Conrad
1965Fritz LeiberThe Wanderer
1964Clifford D SimakHere Gather the Stars
1963Philip K DickThe Man in the High Castle
1962Robert A HeinleinStranger in a Strange Land
1961Walter M Miller JrA Canticle for Leibowitz
1960Robert A HeinleinStarship Troopers
1959James BlishA Case of Conscience
1958Fritz LeiberThe Big Time
1956Robert A HeinleinDouble Star
1955Mark Clifton & Frank RileyThey'd Rather Be Right
1953Alfred BesterThe Demolished Man

Verified by MonsterInsights