Read-Alike: The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

Read-Alike: The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah is one of the year’s big hits! This New York Times Bestseller has circulated through book clubs across the nation. If you liked The Four Winds, try out these similar books! Click each book title to place a hold on a physical copy through the Evergreen Catalog.

 

This Tender Land, William Kent Krueger

Also set during the Great Depression, This Tender Land tells the story of four orphans headed down the Mississippi River in search of a better life. Over one summer, the orphans meet lost souls of all types; faith healers, displaced families, struggling farmers, and more. Like Four Winds, this modern epic gives a great perspective into the lives of ordinary people going through life’s struggles.

 

The Stars Are Fire, Anita Shreve

Based on the true story of the largest fire in Maine’s history, The Stars Are Fire also discusses a major catastrophic event and surviving the aftermath. After a summer-long drought, fires are breaking out all along Maine’s coast. Grace Holland is left alone with her children as her husband, Gene, joins the volunteer firefighters. When the flames take her home, Grace is left with more opportunities and freedom than she has ever known, testing her bravery.

 

All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr

All the Light We Cannot See is both a New York Times bestseller and a Pulitzer Prize-winning novel. Werner is a talented German orphan drafted by the Nazi army for his gifts with electronics and technology. Marie-Laure has been blind since she was a child, learning to navigate the world through models created by her father. Set in World World II, Nazi-occupied France, the search for a precious jewel brings Marie-Laure and Werner together at just the right time.

 

The Driest Season, Meghan Kenny

World War II and a long season of drought have taken their toll on a small Wisconsin community. Fifteen-year-old Cielle has another personal burden: the death of her father. While her family faces an uncertain future on the farm in the wake of her father’s passing, Cielle confronts the realities of life and death.