chat loading…


The 2023 International Booker Prize

The 2023 International Booker Prize

On May 23, the Booker Prize Foundation announced that the 2023 International Prize was awarded to Time Shelter by Bulgarian author Georgi Gospodinov and its English translator, Angela Rodel. 

The International Booker Prize was established in 2004 to expand upon the Booker Prize, which was previously only available to authors from the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, and Zimbabwe, to include any author of a single book that has been translated into English and published in the United Kingdom or Ireland. Initially, the prize was awarded every two years and in recognition of full bodies of work. In 2015, the prize was reformed to recognize the author and translator of specific works annually, splitting the prize money between the author and translator. 

The other books on the short list are as follows:

  • Boulder, by Eva Baltasar, translated by Julia Sanches
  • Whale, by Cheon Myeong-kwan, translated by Chi-Young Kim
  • The Gospel According to the New World, by Maryse Condé, translated by Richard Philcox
  • Standing Heavy, by GauZ’, translated by Frank Wynne
  • Still Born, by Guadalupe Nettel, translated by Rosalind Harvey


The links here go directly to the Evergreen Catalog, where you can place a hold on a physical copy of these books.


If you’re interested in exploring past International Booker Prize winners, follow the links below!

Year Awarded Author Translator Title
2016 Han Kang Deborah Smith The Vegetarian
2017 David Grossman Jessica Cohen A Horse Walks Into a Bar
2018 Olga Tokarczuk Jennifer Croft Flights
2019 Jokha al-Harthi Marilyn Booth Celestial Bodies
2020 Marieke Lucas Rijneveld Michele Hutchison The Discomfort of Evening
2021 David Diop Anna Moschovakis At Night All Blood Is Black
2022 Geetanjali Shree Daisy Rockwell Tomb of Sand
2023 Georgi Gospidinov Angela Rodel Time Shelter

Verified by MonsterInsights