chat loading…


Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist

Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist


Wednesday morning, the shortlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction was announced. The Women’s Prize for Fiction, formerly known as the Orange Prize for Fiction and the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, is awarded annually to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year. This year’s nominees were published in 2022. The shortlist is reflected below, with links to entries in the Evergreen Indiana catalog. Some of these titles are not yet widely available in the United States, so we’ll update this post as they become so. You can also find a list of previous winners of the prize here. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, June 14.


2023 Shortlist





  • Black Butterflies by Priscilla Morris



  • Pod by Laline Paull


Previous Winners


1996 Helen Dunmore A Spell of Winter
1997 Anne Michaels Fugitive Pieces
1998 Carol Shields Larry’s Party
1999 Suzanne Berne A Crime in the Neighborhood
2000 Linda Grant When I Lived in Modern Times
2001 Kate Grenville The Idea of Perfection
2002 Ann Patchett Bel Canto
2003 Valerie Martin Property
2004 Andrea Levy Small Island
2005 Lionel Shriver We Need to Talk About Kevin
2006 Zadie Smith On Beauty
2007 Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Half of a Yellow Sun
2008 Rose Tremain The Road Home
2009 Marilynne Robinson Home
2010 Barbara Kingsolver The Lacuna
2011 Téa Obreht The Tiger’s Wife
2012 Madeline Miller The Song of Achilles
2013 A. M. Homes May We Be Forgiven
2014 Eimear McBride A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing
2015 Ali Smith How to Be Both
2016 Lisa McInerney The Glorious Heresies
2017 Naomi Alderman The Power
2018 Kamila Shamsie Home Fire
2019 Tayari Jones An American Marriage
2020 Maggie O’Farrell Hamnet
2021 Susanna Clarke Piranesi
2022 Ruth Ozeki The Book of Form and Emptiness


Verified by MonsterInsights